‘Murder’ was Gehenna’s fifth album, released in 2000. It was notable for being generally more thrash metal based than its predecessors, though still containing much of the savage black & death metal attack which the band had been known for in the past. This new edition of 'Murder' features 8 bonus songs plus band liner notes.





Gehenna was formed in January, 1993 by original members Sanrabb, Dolgar, and Sir Vereda. Their first demo, entitled Black Seared Heart, was recorded between the 3rd and 7 June 1993 in Soundsuite Studios, and was released as a cassette. Around this same time, a 7" titled Ancestors of The Darkly Sky was released by Necromantic Gallery Productions.
Shortly after the release of these two recordings, Sir Verada left the band due to legal problems, and was replaced by Dirge Rep. The band also enlisted Svartalv as bass player during this time. Up until this time, the band had yet to play any live shows. It was not until February, 1994 that the band made their live debut.

In 1994 Sarcana joined the band and added keyboards to the mix. In March, 1994, the band entered Soundsuite Studios to record their debut album, First Spell. It was released as an MCD on Head Not Found Records. First Spell generated a larger fan-base for the band, and led to them signing 2-album record deal with Cacophonous Records.

In 1995, Gehenna released their second full-length, Seen Through The Veils of Darkness. This record featured a guest appearance by Garm of Arcturus and Ulver doing vocals on the track Vinterriket. This release cemented Gehenna as a strong band in the black metal scene.

Shortly before the release of Gehenna's next record, Svartalv left the band. Noctifer, who had joined the band as Svartalv's replacement, was unable to meet the demands of being a member of Gehenna. After 6 months, during the recording sessions of Gehenna's third release, Noctifier left the band. E.N. Death, a friend of the band, was asked to sit in as a session bassist to finish the recording. After also joining the band on tour, he was asked to join the band full-time.

In 1996, Gehenna's third release, Malice, was released on Cacophonous Records. Sarcana and Dirge Rep both left the band shortly after a touring in support of Malice. Damien was added as Sarcana's replacement on keyboards and Blod took up drumming duties. With the new members, Gehenna's sound changed a bit. Blod brought a death metal background with him, and it influenced Gehenna in a much heavier way.

In 1998, Gehenna signed to Moonfog Productions and immediately released an EP Deadlights, which was a sample to their fans of what to expect from the newer Gehenna material. This EP was later followed by their Moonfog debut LP, Adimiron Black. During their tenure with Moonfog Productions, Gehenna would also release Murder in 2000 and WW in 2005.

In late 2005 Gehenna signed with ANP Records. In December, 2007, Gehenna announced that the previous contract signed with ANP Records was cancelled and that Gehenna signed with Norwegian based "Indie Recordings". Dirge Rep was also announced as a full-time member.




  • gehenna band1
  • l
  • l 4
  • l 3
  • l 2
  • l 1

Live Dates

October 2015

  • 29/10, Che Cafe, UC San Diego - La Jolla, CA, US

November 2015

  • 05/11, The Golden Bull Bar - Oakland, CA, US

Latest News


Gehenna - 'WW' vinyl release coming November 11th.

'WW', Gehenna's ferocious Norwegian black metal assault will be released on 180gm black vinyl on November 11th, & can now be pre-ordered HERE."WW" was Gehenna's sixth album, originally released i ...


Gehenna - 'Murder' released 16th April, including 8 bonus tracks.

'Murder', Gehenna's fifth album of raw extremity will be reissued 16th April, including 8 bonus tracks consisting of alternate album mixes, instrumental demo versions, plus a cover of Mayhem's 'Curse ...