Our Twilight visual

Peaceville Records is proud to announce the signing of Finnish prog death metallers, BARREN EARTH. With a line-up consisting of former members of prog/folk metal legends Amorphis, as well as current members of Swallow the Sun, Moonsorrow & Kreator, the band has been busy recording their debut album at the renowned Seawolf Studios in Helsinki, with the tracks mixed by Dan Swanö (Katatonia/Opeth/Novembre).

An EP, Our Twilight, is OUT NOW, with the album currently scheduled for an early 2010 release. The tracklist for the EP is: Our Twilight (EP version), The Flame of Serenity, Jewel, Floodred.

The music of BARREN EARTH combines elements of modern and traditional death metal, with 70's prog rock and folk. Among the band's influences are artists such as Paradise Lost, Opeth, Pink Floyd, Jethro Tull and also some pioneers of Finnish prog.

Barren Earth's world premiere live show took place in Dante's Highlight, Helsinki on the 19th of November 2009. The band played it's debut ep entirely plus most of the material from the upcoming debut album.

Barren Earth line up

Mikko Kotamäki – Vocals (Swallow The Sun)
Olli-Pekka Laine – Bass (Ex-Amorphis, Mannhai)
Kasper Mårtenson –Keyboards (Ex-Amorphis, Ben Granfelt Band)
Janne Perttilä – Guitar (Rytmihäiriö)
Marko Tarvonen – Drums (Moonsorrow)
Sami Ylisirniö – Guitar (Kreator, Waltari)

On signing to Peaceville:
“Getting signed by Peaceville Records is a great honour, as they are one of the very few metal labels left who have a passion and feeling for the music they release. To us, it also feels like coming home, because in a way they carry a big responsibility for BARREN EARTH’s existence by having released the most important albums from pioneers such as Autopsy and Paradise Lost. Those albums played a huge role, when we sucked our musical mother’s milk in the late 80’s and early 90’s. This is a fact that should be noticeably evident in Barren Earth’s sound and music. Hopefully BARREN EARTH will also be able to add a fresh spin to Peaceville’s already impressive roster”
- Olli-Pekka Laine

Barren Earth have just released a short film talking about the writing and recording of Our Twilight, and can be seen here. (pause the audio player above before playing)


Our Twilight visual

Order the EP from the Peaceville store

Barren Earths's website

Barren Earth

Peaceville label: Paul Groundwell
Management: Jukka Varmo (Metalheim)
Booking: Jörg Düsedau (Europe (excl. Finland & UK) (Dragon Productions)
Booking: Teemu Suominen (Finland) (Metalheim)


Peaceville Records Store
RSS news

Peaceville Records Mailing List

Peaceville last.fm profile


>< >